Skip to main content

Home from Hospital, its great, but a lil tough.

Home from the Hospital

As you read in my last blog, some craziness happened, I got really sick and had to cancel my surgery. Which means I will be rescheduling that for May! I got a virus, which covered the inside of my mouth and throat in sores. Then I got Thrush, which covered my tongue... And then I got a sinus infection. I got transfered to a hospital in Chicago and have been camping out there over my spring break!

BUT... I'm home!!!!!! I have had no fever for a few days, my sores are gone, my tongue finally looks human again. Although, It was kinda cool looking, I could have been some strange alien on star trek :-)

I'm soooo glad to be home. But, now comes the "at home adjusting"; where I have to clean my house, cuz its a mess from me being sick. I have to de-bug my house so I don't get sick again, I gotta remember to take all the new meds they put me on, as well as my old. And make sure I have time to do my nebulizers and stomach feeding, etc. Also, I gotta pay all the bills I have received while in the hospital, but have no paycheck for the last week and a half... luckily, I know how to save money and cut corners :-)  I find it tough when I first come home, cuz I don't want to take it easy, I want to plunge right into my regular lifestyle. But I get wore down faster at first and have to remember I'm not 100%, which is hard for me to take. I really dislike not being able to keep up with my life. And sometimes that can be the most frustrating part of CF. I don't let it stop me, but when I get ill, it always slows me down for a while. As a CFer we are used to getting sick and being in the hospital for a week or 2 or a month at a time, but it never gets easier.

I got home late last night :-)

Today, I got the house picked up, fridge cleared out, dished done, 3 loads of laundry, and bathroom wiped down. I still have a lot of homework tonight, but I should be able to finish it while doing the rest of my nebulizers.

Other than being extremely tired still and kinda low energy, I feel pretty good :-) Very excited to get back to classes, my jobs, and play practices. I have missed everyone dearly and I can't wait to be 100% again!

Comments

  1. Glad you are on the mend! I have the same issue after getting sick- I want to jump right back into life and make up for lost time, but CF doesn't make that easy. Hope you feel 100% soon.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hey Cheriz, gosh it's been a little while since I stopped over at your blog and have some catching up to do. Sorry to hear you have not been well, it all sounds awful! :( But so glad to hear you are doing better and love the positive attitude you have! Hope you back to 100% really soon!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Today's BIG Appointment

 I discussed last week about my recent struggles & goals. I have been dealing with a lot all at once! Family planning (update on that in 2 weeks), my Grandma's funeral, lower lung function. Through it all I have remained very compliant with my meds! My health is VERY important to me. So this last weekend I took my vest machine, wabi sterilizer system , and packs of ensure to my parent's for the weekend. I wanted to make sure I did everything. While it was a sad occasion, it was still pleasant seeing almost all of the family together again. Actually 27 out of 29 of the cousins made it to the funeral. Grandpa is in the middle of the picture (can you find me?) LOL   On top of my medications I have been doing some dancing & walking, but no jogging or anything. I'm still counting calories on my fitbit (hitting over 3000) a day (& 40 grams of protein, 50 grams of fat at least). I knew I was feeling a bit better than before, but wasn't sure what to expec...

Beginning of the Year Troubles

Normal "beginning of the year" troubles for Andrew and I only really consist of one topic: Our Deductible [please no Obama, or government bashing] I've always had high deductibles ALL MY LIFE (no matter who was president). The problem is I hit my deductible within the first week of January. In the past I have always prepared for this and since I was still on my father's insurance (up until last year) he typically paid the bill (at least for medical stuff). And in the future Andrew & I won't have such an issue with this. We will be able to save and plan ahead for the $3,000 (for my deductible, his is another $3,000). However, this year was more difficult. We saved all 2013-2014 for our wedding & honeymoon, plus had our deductible saved too. But Real Estate was a pricey career to start, I've put almost $5,000 into it (classes, dues, licensing, exam, advertising, etc). So needless to say our deductible disappeared, thanks to my new career. Wh...

Updates!

 Hey everyone! Sorry it’s been a while. Covid struggles have been all around and we have been focusing our on our kiddo and current life situations (jobs, home, everything really). We have been posting regularly on the Facebook page (www.facebook.com/CherizCFPage). We will keep you updated on there for now,  because we are doing some big changes to our current blog! Stay tuned!  In meantime, message our FB page if you need anything. Keep safe and stay happy.  We will be back. Promise!